You are here: Home Membership Types
Document Actions


Information on the various types of membership can be found here.

The Graduate School ESGC distinguishes three types of ESGC Junior Fellowships:

1. For all students aiming at a Doctoral (Dr. rer. nat. / Dr. phil.)-title at the Faculty of Environmental and Natural Resources membership in the Graduate School is optional. 

2. All students holding an official research position in an externally financed Graduate Research Class at the Faculty of Environmental and Natural Resources are automatically member of the GS ESGC.

3. Doctoral-/PhD-students at the EUCOR-universities working in related fields to the GS ESGC can also apply for membership. 

All ESGC Junior Fellows independent from their type of membership have the same rights. Duties differ slightly according to memberships.

ESGC Academic Fellows comprise chair holders as well as senior researchers (PD, PostDoc, and extraordinary chair holders), who are eligible to supervise PhD students under the regulations of the University of Freiburg, resp. the Faculty of Environmental and Natural Resources. The Academic Fellows of the Graduate School ESGC are organised in so-called "Research Classes".

The Board of Directors of the Graduate School is formed by

  • three ESGC Academic Fellows, each representing one of the three Institutes of the Faculty of Environmental and Natural Resources, namely the Institute of Earth and Environmental Sciences, the Institute of Forest Sciences, and the Institute of Environmental Social Sciences and Geography, and elected by the Faculty Council
  • the respective spokesperson of externally funded ESGC Research Classes
Personal tools